About Us

Today CHICATA is a unique organization with a robust, skilled, and accomplished membership. Its mission is to enhance interpreter/translator networks and offer a diverse menu of language services and educational opportunities in an ever-changing landscape.

Who we are & who can join

According to the By-Laws of the Chicago Area Translators and Interpreters Association, independent freelance and in-house translators and interpreters are eligible for membership. The online directory is open to the public. Owners, managers, and representatives of translation agencies and/or bureaus are not eligible for membership.

Membership

Members enjoy the many benefits that CHICATA offers: regular meetings, networking, a membership directory, workshops, and full-day conferences and institutes. In addition, members are eligible for discounted rates on CHICATA Conferences and Institutes. The annual membership fee is currently set at $50.

Interested in Joining Us?

Searchable Directory

The CHICATA Searchable Online Directory lists details about each member’s services (i.e., languages, simultaneous / consecutive interpretation, translation, narration, voice-overs, language instruction, etc.), education, specializations, professional affiliations, computer equipment, and other relevant data.

Find a language professional

Executive Committee

CHICATA is governed by an Executive Committee.

Elected Officers (2022-2023)

Jane Hu

President

President@Chicata.org

Mingshu Zhang

Vice-President for Programs

Programs@Chicata.org

John Bukacek

Vice-President for Membership

Membership@Chicata.org

Patrice Van Hyle

Secretary

Secretary@Chicata.org

Beth Farkas

Treasurer

Treasurer@Chicata.org

John Bukacek

Immediate Past President

Info@Chicata.org